Easy Fermenting: Beet Kvass

Getting into fermenting foods can be intimidating. I’d read about how important it was to regularly consume fermented foods as a way to improve the flora in your gut. I thought about it and waffled on it for months before finally taking the Big Leap. Only to find that the Leap wasn’t that big at all – fermenting stuff is easy! It’s fun! And it’s tasty!

My favorite ferment so far is beet kvass. It takes minimal preparation, a week or so on the shelf, and the result is an earthy, salty, slightly sweet fizzy drink that’s great with a squeeze of lime. If you’re waffling on taking the Leap, try kvass as a first step.

Beets

Beet Kvass

2-3 Beets
1 Tbsp Sea Salt
Filtered Water

Instructions:

Scrub (but don’t peel) beets and chop into inch-sized cubes.

Drop into a jar. I use an empty Bubbies jar, which is about 25 fl. oz. If you use a bigger jar, add a second Tbsp of sea salt.

Add sea salt and filtered water over the beets. Leave about an inch of space at the top of the jar and seal it tightly.

Put it on a shelf in a warm room and forget about it for a week. After a week, it should be ready to be put in the fridge and enjoyed.

*Economical Tip: Re-use the same beets for another batch!*

 

8 thoughts on “Easy Fermenting: Beet Kvass

    • I don’t think color matters – it would be cool to try it with orange beets too! When I’ve made it, the 2-3 beets I use is usually around two cups.

      Good luck!

  1. Lynn says:

    Would you tell me how much water you used to fill up a Bubbies jar? I have a quart jar and a half gallon jar. I also have a ferment lid. Can I use the lid? Thank you.

    • Hi Lynn, a Bubbies jar is around 25 fl oz, and I filled it about an inch from the top. I’m not sure about the ferment lid – I don’t have any experience using one!

Leave a Reply

