AIP Yam and Liver Meatballs

Image

Liver. **Cue groans of dread**

I’m not a big fan of liver. It’s messy to prepare and I usually am not happy with the taste/texture that results. So why bother? The Autoimmune Protocol emphasizes eating for nutrient-density, and organ meats are some of the most nutrient dense foods around. So even though they might be a pain to prepare (in my experience), I try to incorporate them into my diet often.

I like the Paleo Mom’s idea of hiding liver in recipes to mask the flavor and texture, like her Hidden Liver Meatloaf. However, I found the recipe that didn’t hide the flavor quite enough for me. The way I was able to eat it all was by combining every single bite of meatloaf with a bite of sweet potato.

So I  incorporated sweet potato in these meatballs for further masking. I also used a smaller ratio of liver to meat – opting for a 1/2 pound slice instead of the full pound. It worked! The sweet potato and coconut aminos make these meatballs sweetly delicious, and the liver taste is barely detectable.

Yam and Liver Meatballs

2 lb ground beef
1/2  lb liver
2 medium yams, pre-baked and pureed
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
1 tsp salt
3 Tbsp coconut aminos

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cover two cookie sheets or cake pans with foil. Since my kitchen is small and slightly under-stocked, I used one foil covered cake pan and one glass baking dish. Both worked!

The worst part is the first part: puree your liver in a food processor until smooth.

Add liver and rest of ingredients to a bowl and mix together. Use your hands and dig in!

Roll into meatballs and place on your pans.

Cook for around 30 minutes, or until meatballs are done in the middle.

Enjoy with some extra coconut aminos for dipping sauce.

3 thoughts on “AIP Yam and Liver Meatballs

  1. I’m another person who tries to incorporate liver into their diet. Liver meatballs with dipping sauce sounds like a great way to do it. I recently made pate which is probably my favourite way to eat liver. It also requires pureed liver. Have you tried eating pate? Did it agree with you?

    I love reading about new food experiments and adventures. This post would make a great submission to Our Growing Edge this month. It is a monthly event celebrating new food experiences. Submission deadline is at the end of the month. More info here: http://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge/

    • I have yet to try pate, though it’s definitely on my list. I’ll definitely check out the Our Growing Edge site! Thanks for suggesting it and for stopping by the blog!

Leave a Reply

