Egg-Free Salmon Cakes

I do all my cooking at night in a poorly lit apartment - thus my food photos are not ideal.

I do all my cooking at night in a poorly lit apartment – thus my food photos are not ideal.

Living egg-free can be a challenge. Not only is a morning protein standby off the table, but other types of cooking and baking becomes a challenge. Enter non-egg binders. In the Paleo Mom’s series on “The Science and Art of Paleofying Everything,” she has a great post on ideas for ways to adapt recipes that call for eggs.  A Clean Plate also has a helpful post about substitutions.

This recipe uses green plantain puree, with a little avocado for added moisture.

Ingredients:

18 oz. Canned Salmon (I use Trader Joe’s wild caught Alaskan)
½ avocado
1 green plantain
1 Tbsp fresh ginger, minced
½ yellow onion, chopped
1 Tbsp Dill
squeeze of lemon juice
1 tsp salt, or more to taste (I have a very salty palate)
½ cup coconut oil

Peel and chop plantain into a few pieces. Add to food processor and process until it becomes a smooth puree. This may take a few minutes depending on the greenness of your plantain.

Add avocado and process until two are mixed together as a sticky paste.

In large bowl, mix all ingredients well – I do it with my hands to make sure the binder is well distributed.

 Carefully form into about 8 patties.

Heat coconut oil in frying pan on medium heat. When the oil is hot, carefully add your patties. Cook for about 3-5 minutes on each side, or until fried golden brown and hot in the middle. Add more coconut oil if needed.

Note: A few pieces will likely fall off your perfectly-formed patties while transferring to the pan or flipping. Personally, I let the little pieces get golden and crispy and enjoy eating them just as much as the burgers themselves.

12 thoughts on “Egg-Free Salmon Cakes

  1. Tess says:

    This recipe made me soooo happy! I am following Paleo AIP plus low FODMAPS plus low oxalate, and that leaves few options. This was so tasty and a nice departure from a slab of meat. I omitted the onions (FODMAPS) and used banana instead of plantain, since my three regular stores don’t regularly carry them. Could not detect a banana-y taste. Perfect hot out of the skillet!

  2. Sharon Madison says:

    It sounds great, except I’m allergic to bananas. I’ve tried plantains twice, & think I’m allergic to them, too. So any ideas on substitutions for the plantain?

Leave a Reply

